Weather Forecast


Boys track and field:4x400 secures title at Sauer Invitational

The 39th-annual Jim Sauer Invitational came down to the final lap of the final race Friday night at Irish Stadium.

Rosemount junior Jeremy Maccitelli's anchor leg in the 4x400 relay secured fourth place -- and five points -- in the event and gave the Irish just enough to leapfrog past North St. Paul -- sixth in the event -- by half a point, 179 1/2-179.

Plainview-Elgin-Millville's 4x400 relay provided the assist for the Irish, edging North St.Paul for fifth place by just over half a second to cost the Polars a point and the team title.

Depth was the key for the Irish as they defended the title at their eight-team meet for the seventh straight year. They placed first in four events, but scored points in all 18 and placed multiple athletes in 12 of the 14 individual events.

Sam Ivanecky led a 1-2-3-4 Irish finish in the 1,600, where he and Trevor Capra reached the finish in 4:38.50 and 4:38.70, respectively. Luke Anderson and Cody Sedbrook rounded out the top four as the Irish scored 29 points in the event.

Chandler Dye led four Rosemount runners in the top eight in the 800-meter run with a winning time of 1:58.54 and Kyle Johnson was one of three runners from the host school in the top eight in the 400, which he won in 51.61 seconds.

The other Irish victory came in the 4x800, where Nathan Rock, Calvin Lehn, Michael Koziol and Tim Sampers won with a time of 8:31.51. The 4x100 team of Grant Jackson, Matt Wells, Preston Webb and Salih Mohamed added a third-place finish, as did the 4x200 group of Ryan Fox, Treigh French, Jordan Herbranson and Craig Szymanski. Herbranson, Kwame Owusu and Eric Heimendinger rounded out the meet-closing 4x400.

The Irish scored a pair of runner-up individual finishes in the jumps. Tyler Liermann was second in the high jump with a leap of 5-10 and Marius Lewis placed second in the triple jump at 42-8 1/2.

Third-place finishes went to Conor Manning in the 300 hurdles and Wells in the shot put.

Rosemount's other event leaders were Mohamed in the 100 (fourth), Webb in the 200 (fourth), Ryan Condon in the 3,200 (fifth), Christian Hummelgard in the 110 hurdles (fourth), Ryan Vick in the pole vault (fifth), Lewis in the long jump (fourth) and Austin Leslie in the discus (fourth).