Weather Forecast


Wrestling: Irish lock up third place

Rosemount 138-pounder Kwame Owusu flips his opponent during Thursday's dual victory over Lakeville North.

Pins from four seniors helped the Rosemount wrestling team lock up third in the South Suburban Conference and a No. 2 seed in the section Thursday night.

Seniors Steve Levine, Adam Jackson, Alex Johnson and Stefan Sauer all won by fall as the Irish moved ahead of Lakeville North in the league standings with a 40-29 dual victory under the spotlight at Irish Gym. Rosemount finished with a 6-2 record in the conference and an overall mark of 19-4.

"We finished the regular season strong. We're wrestling really well right now," Rosemount coach Brett Larson said. "It has truly been a team effort all season. We have had great practices and great effort from all the wrestlers this year and it shows by the results, which has been great to see."

Dan Rosa started the dual with a pin and Adam Hedin followed with a technical fall victory. Kwame Owusu and Sam Moeller added a pair of wins by decision.

Among the rest of the Rosemount seniors, Pat Massey lost a hard-fought decision to a returning all-state wrestler in the varsity dual and Tim Sampers and Isaiah Lufkin each won JV matches.

The Irish open section team tournament action tomorrow afternoon at Apple Valley. They take on Eagan in the opening round, beginning at 4 p.m.


Adam Jackson, the state's second-ranked 152-pounder, takes a 34-2 record into the section tournament. Levine, ranked seventh at 126 pounds, carries a record of 33-3, and Rosa, ranked ninth, improved his record to 28-7.

Sauer (26-10) and Moeller (25-9)?have also eclipsed 20 wins.

JV conference

Two Rosemount wrestlers won championships and 10 placed in last Saturday's South Suburban Conference JV tournament at Lakeville South.

Capturing first-place finishes were Connor Hagen and Austin Swanson. Lufkin, Connor Busho, Craig Szymanski, Roman Burridge and Kamal Hassan each earned third-place finishes.

Also placing were Kouta Suggi (fourth), Sampers (fifth) and Milton Hines (sixth).