Weather Forecast


Football: Irish beat Lightning 28-21

Eastview running back Eric Krupke broke loose for a 79-yard touchdown run two minutes into the game to give the Lightning a 7-0 lead Friday night.

Then the Irish clamped down. The Lightning managed just 55 yards on their other 31 carries, forcing them to throw the ball 31 times. Three of those tosses resulted in Rosemount interceptions as the Irish rallied for a 28-21 South Suburban Conference victory under the lights in Apple Valley.

Quarterback Nate LeMoine had a hand in all four touchdowns. He quickly tied the game with a 37-yard scoring strike to Sean Kalinowki at the 7:14 mark of the first quarter.

The score stayed 7-7 for the next 12-plus minutes before LeMoine plunged across the goal line from one yard out to give the Irish the lead. After a defensive stop, LeMoine fired a 28-yard touchdown pass to running back Andy Gustafson to make it 21-7 with 3:07 left before halftime.

The Lightning responded with a long scoring drive of their own to make the score 21-14 at the break.

LeMoine, already with two touchdowns through the air, tacked on a second rushing touchdown on the first drive of the second half. His 16-yard scamper made it 28-14 with 8:49 left in the third.

LeMoine finished with 112 rushing yards on 12 carries and completed 6 of 13 passes for 151 yards. Gustafson added 57 ground yards and Logan Lindberg 46, giving the Irish a total of 215.

Kalinowski caught three of LeMoine's passes for 73 yards and Gustafson, Lindberg and Tommy Wiita each caught one pass.

Lindberg also drained all four of his extra-point tries and punted three times for 54 yards.

Defensively, the Irish got interceptions from Ben Sandoz, Micah Marshall and Jake O'Malley.

The Irish (5-2) closed out the regular season Wednesday night with a home game against Eagan (3-4) at Irish Stadium. The team will be in action again next Tuesday for the opening round of the Section 3AAAAA tournament.

SSC Standings

1. Lakeville North (No. 4) 6-0

2. Prior Lake 5-1

3. Lakeville South (No. 8) 5-2

4. Rosemount 5-2

5. Eagan 3-3

6. Bloomington Kennedy 2-4

7. Eastview 2-5

8. Burnsville 2-5

9. Bloomington Jefferson 1-5

10. Apple Valley 1-5