Weather Forecast


Six vie for two council seats

Six residents filed for candidacy over the two week filing period meaning Rosemount will have a primary in August.

Residents who filed include Vanessa DeMuth, Maila Ellefson, Joe Kurle, Wade Miller, Jeff Weisensel and Joseph Zanmiller. Candidates have until June 7 to withdraw from the race. Weisensel is the only incumbent running. DeMuth and Miller both currently serve on the city's planning commission.

The Minnesota Primary Election will be held Aug. 14. At that time voters will narrow the pool down to four. The two open seats up for election are currently held by Weisensel and Matt Kearney.

Matt Kearney was appointed by the city council to the seat after Kurt Bills won a Minnesota House of Representatives seat in 2010.

Both seats are four year terms. The council is made up of four members and the mayor.