Weather Forecast


Planning body will get smaller in 2013

The Rosemount City Council will reduce the size of the planning commission to five members.

For the last several years the commission has been made up of seven members.

The decision to shrink the commission came after long time commissioner Valerie Ege resigned and commissioner Vanessa Demuth was elected to the city council. In 2013 the terms for Bruno DiNella and Wade Miller will expire. The city will start advertising for open seats on all the city's commissions early next year.

The city expanded the planning commission from five to seven members a few years ago after a large pool of people applied to be part of the city's various commissions. Council member Kim Shoe-Corrigan recommended the move as a way to get more people involved. But since the move the council has had trouble keeping the commission full.

During a Nov. 14 council work session, Shoe-Corrigan said a seven member commission seemed unwieldy and five seemed the better number.

Community development director Kim Lindquist and city planner Eric Zweber both said they found five easier to work with.

Council member Jeff Weisensel was the only member of the council at the end of the discussion that wanted to stick with seven, saying it was a good way to get people involved.

The council will approve an ordinance change on the matter sometime in December.

Emily Zimmer
Emily Zimmer has worked as a staff writer for the Rosemount Town Pages since 2007. She has a degree in journalism from Minnesota State University, Mankato. Outside of work, Emily enjoys running, reading and gardening. You can follow Emily's gardening adventures at the Areavoices blog East of Weedin'
(651) 460-6606