Weather Forecast


Demuth and Weisensel win council seats

Incumbent Jeff Weisensel and planning commissioner Vanessa Demuth won the two Rosemount City Council seats up for grabs in Tuesday's election. Demuth received the most votes with 5,274 and Weisensel came in next with 4,759. Joe Kurle trailed with 3,126 and Joe Zanmiller 2,349.

"I am looking forward to serving on the city council. I'm honored to have been chosen and humbled by it," Demuth said.

Demuth said she met a lot of people campaigning and learned a lot about the people of the community.

"I really enjoyed campaigning. I'm gonna miss it," said Demuth.

Weisensel said he is looking forward to serving four more years on the council.

"I'm humbled at being reelected."

City Clerk Amy Domeier said the polls were busy all day long. According to Dakota County election officials, 15,605 voters turned out to the polls in Rosemount. Before the polls closed, Domeier anticipated Rosemount would have more than 80 percent voter turnout. Despite being busy, Domeier said the day went smoothly at the polls.

Demuth and Weisensel will serve four years on the city council. Demuth won the seat currently held by Matt Kearney. Kearney was appointed to the council in 2010 when Kurt Bills won a seat in the Minnesota House of Representatives. Kearney did not run for election.

Weisensel and Demuth will be sworn in during the first city council meeting in January.

Emily Zimmer
Emily Zimmer has worked as a staff writer for the Rosemount Town Pages since 2007. She has a degree in journalism from Minnesota State University, Mankato. Outside of work, Emily enjoys running, reading and gardening. You can follow Emily's gardening adventures at the Areavoices blog East of Weedin'
(651) 460-6606