Weather Forecast


Harris will serve as county board chair

Commissioner Joe Harris was chosen as the 2011 Dakota County Board Chair during the Jan. 4 board meeting. Harris has been on the board since 1981 representing District 1, which includes the city Coates and Empire Township, among others.

Harris last served as the board chair in 2005. He was also the board chair in 1986, 1990, 1995 and 1997.

Harris will also serve on the Byllesby Advisory Committee, MetroGIS Policy Board, Metropolitan Energy Policy Coalition, Minnesota Inter-County Association Board, Red Rock Corridor Commission, Solid Waste Management Coordinating Board Executive Committee, and Rosemount Research and Outreach Center at UMORE Park Advisory Council. He was appointed to the Dakota County Board/Court Policy Committee and the Dakota County Extension Committee. He is also the secretary treasurer of the Dakota County Regional Rail Authority.

Commissioner Nancy Schouweiler, District 4, was elected the 2011 vice-chair.

Find additional committee appointments for Dakota County Commissioners at, search elected officials.