Weather Forecast


Three National Merit semifinalists named

Three Rosemount High School seniors have been named semifinalists in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program and another eight are being recognized as National Merit commended students this year based on tests they took last year as juniors. The names of the merit semifinalists and commended students in this 59th annual scholarship program were released Sept. 11 by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

The National Merit semifinalists from Rosemount are: Emily Brossart, Connor Hagen and Anshika Rai.

The National Merit Scholarship Program also recognizes students whose scores on the PSAT/NMSQT rank them in the top 5 percent of students nationwide. At RHS the following eight seniors are 2014 National Merit commended students: Madison Holtze, Taylor Karns, Andre Nelson, Joe Pearman, Claire Smith, Saikrishna Sunkam, James Terhaar and Caitlin Westlund of Rosemount High School, and RHS student Aaron Elizondo was identified for the National Hispanic Recognition Program. Eligibility is aso based on scores on the qualifying test students take as juniors.