Weather Forecast


Rosemount's Albaugh is a Teacher of the Year finalist

Rosemount High School choir teacher Steven Albaugh is one of 10 teachers named as finalists in the 2013 Minnesota Teacher of the Year program. A selection panel of 25 leaders in the areas of education, business, government and non-profits selected the finalists from a group of 39 semifinalists. There were 135 Teacher of the Year candidates for this program year.

The selection panel meets again May 4 to conduct individual interviews with the 10 finalists and to cast votes for the 2013 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

The 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year, Jackie Roehl of the Edina School District, will announce this year's honoree at a banquet at the Minneapolis Marriott Northwest in Brooklyn Park on Sunday, May 5.

Albaugh, whose nomination includes the names of more than 60 current and former students and parents, said he was "humbled" to be selected as a semifinalist in February. He was first hired in District 196 in 1995 as a choir director at Eagan High School and has been at RHS since 2000.

In addition to his choral duties Albaugh directs the school's annual OnStage variety show and runs a summer choral camp for children.

RHS teacher Thomas Scott was also chosen as semifinalist for the award. Rosemount Middle School Spanish teacher Lisa Swanson was one of the initial nominees for the award.

Education Minnesota, the 70,000-member statewide educators union, organizes and underwrites the Teacher of the Year program. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers from public or private schools. The Minnesota Teacher of the Year Program also receives support from the following organizations: The SMARTer Kids Foundation, Minneapolis Marriott Northwest, United Educators Credit Union, the Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, Education Minnesota ESI, McDonald's Restaurants of Minnesota, Pearson Education and TruStone Financial. This year marks the program's 49th anniversary.