Weather Forecast


District seeks nominees for Randall Award

District 196 is accepting nominations through Feb. 24 for the 2011-12 Andrew Christopher Randall Memorial Travel Award, given to one Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan Public Schools employee annually in recognition of their ability to foster mutual respect between individual students and school staff.

Any employee, student, parent or resident may nominate a District 196 employee for the award. Employees must have worked in the district for at least five years to be eligible. Nomination forms are available at or by calling 651-423-7784. Completed nominations must be returned by Feb. 24 to: Elementary Curriculum, Independent School District 196, 3455 153rd St. W., Rosemount, MN 55068.

The award was established by Dr. Ruth Randall Benson, who was superintendent of District 196 from 1981 to 1983 and former commissioner of education for Minnesota. She established the award in memory of her grandson Andrew Christopher Randall, who died in September 1990, at age 14, following a six and one-half year battle with cancer. The award is given to honor the employees at the schools Andrew attended for the sensitivity, humor, kindness, love and mutual respect that marked their relationship with Andrew. The $2,000 cash award is designated for travel because travel brought great pleasure to Andrew. The award is also supported financially by Andrew's parents Robert and Laurie.