Weather Forecast


Rosemount sends two to National Farmers Union convention

Brian Rohrenbach and Linda Larson of Rosemount recently represented attended the National Farmers Union Convention held in Santa Fe, N.M., as part of the Minnesota Farmers Union delegation.

MFU attendees heard from U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack; a farm bill update panel with Sara Wyant, president, Agri-Pulse Communications; Bart Fischer, chief economist, House Agriculture Committee; Joe Shultz, chief economist, Senate Agriculture Committee; and Alexis Taylor, chief of staff, Farm and Foreign Agriculture Services, U.S. Department of Agriculture.

There was also a state agriculture policy panel which included Colorado agriculture commissioner John Salazar, New Mexico director/secretary of agriculture Jeff Witte, and Wyoming director of agriculture Jason Fearneyhough.

Along with passing policy, convention delegates passed seven Special Orders of Business addressing varying aspects of agriculture, which can be found at: