Weather Forecast


Five west central Minnesota counties designated ag disaster areas

ST. PAUL -- Farmers who suffered crop losses due to the July 30 wind storm that struck west central Minnesota will be eligible for low-interest emergency loans from the federal Farm Service Agency.

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Edward Schafer designated Lac qui Parle, Big Stone, Chippewa, Swift and Yellow Medicine counties as agricultural disaster areas, Gov. Tim Pawlenty's office announced Monday.

A loss assessment report provided by Lac qui Parle County documented the extensive damage to corn and soybean crops by the storm. The disaster designation is extended to include adjacent counties, which includes Big Stone, Chippewa, Swift and Yellow Medicine.

Farmers should contact their local FSA office for more information.