Weather Forecast


6 will square off in first council primary

Rosemount will hold its first municipal primary Aug. 10. Six residents filed to run for the two open city council seats, leading to the early poll date.

Current city council members Mark DeBettignies and Kim Shoe-Corrigan will try to reclaim their seats on the council, while residents Tim Judy, Dennis Winsor, Maila Ellefson and Joe Kurle put their hats in the ring to challenge the incumbents.

June 1 was the last day residents could file to run for election. In addition to the two council seats up for election, candidates also filed for the open mayor's seat.

William Droste will fight to keep his seat from contender Kurt Hansen. Because there are only two candidates, the mayoral race will only be on the Nov. 2 ballot.

In February the city council approved a city code ordinance that added a primary to the city's calendar after an unprecedented 26 candidates filed for city council in 2008.

"It should make things go smoother for voters and election judges," said city clerk Amy Domeier at the time.

Candidates have until 5 p.m. June 3 to drop out of the race.

Emily Zimmer
Emily Zimmer has worked as a staff writer for the Rosemount Town Pages since 2007. She has a degree in journalism from Minnesota State University, Mankato. Outside of work, Emily enjoys running, reading and gardening. You can follow Emily's gardening adventures at the Areavoices blog East of Weedin'
(651) 460-6606