Weather Forecast


Governor names Riley Met Council finalist

Gov. Tim Pawlenty named Rosemount Port Authority chair Mary Riley a finalist for the Metropolitan Council District 16 seat. The seat became vacant when Brian McDaniel announced his resignation late last year.

The other two finalists are Christy Jo Fogarty, of Farmington and Wendy Wulff, of Lakeville. The three were chosen from a pool of 16 applicants, two of whom withdrew their applications.

The Metropolitan Council Nominating Committee conducted a public hearing for the position last month. The Nominating Committee recommended the three finalists to the governor.

Riley works as a realtor for Coldwell Banker Burnet. In addition to her duties on the port authority, Riley is the treasurer of the SKB Community Trust Board, a member of the Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce, the Rosemount High School Parent Communication Network and volunteers at church. Riley served Rosemount as a city councilor from 2000 to 2004.

The Metropolitan Council coordinates planning and development in the seven county area. The council consists of 16 members who represent geographical districts and a chair who serves at large. All members are appointed by the governor and serve four-year terms.

District 16 covers Apple Valley; Coates; the portion of Eagan lying south of a line at the intersection of Cliff Road with the western boundary of Eagan, easterly along Cliff Road to its intersection with Robert Trail South and 110th St. West, then easterly along 110th Street West to the eastern border of Eagan; Farmington; Hampton; Hastings; Lakeville; Miesville; New Trier; Randolph; Rosemount; and Vermillion; and the Dakota County Townships of Castle Rock, Douglas, Empire, Eureka, Greenvale, Hampton, Marshan, Nininger, Randolph, Ravenna, Sciota, Vermillion, and Waterford.