Weather Forecast


Bills, Weisensel win city council seats

Kurt Bills is an old coach and even though he had a pretty commanding lead with most precincts reporting he didn't want to comment until he was out of the "fourth quarter".

Later with all precincts reporting the high school teacher breathed a sigh of victory. He beat out more than two dozen other candidates for one of two seats on the Rosemount City Council.

"I'm honored to serve a great city like Rosemount," said Bills.

Joining Bills as a new comer on the council will be Jeff Weisensel, a former planning commissioner.

"I'm humbled and excited for this opportunity," Weisensel said shortly after hearing the news of his win.

Bills was the highest vote getter with 2,488. Weisensel came in a close second with 2356.

Both men said they look forward to the challenge of serving on the city council and hope to hit the pavement running.

Bills said he will begin preparing for his time on the council Wednesday morning.

"The first thing I'm going to do is give a call to Jeff May the city's finance director," said Bills. He added that before being sworn in he would like to learn as much about the city council and the duties that go along with it.

The city council will canvas the results Wednesday night during a special meeting to make them official.

Bills and Weisensel will join mayor Bill Droste, Kim Shoe-Corrigan and Mark DeBettignies. The two will replace current council members Phillip Sterner and Mike Baxter in January.

Sterner is running for the 37B House of Representatives seat. Results for that race were to close to call when this story was posted. Baxter originally threw his name into the ring to reclaim his council seat but withdrew when he was appointed a judge in Le Sueur County.

The large candidate pool made this years election a unique experience. Twenty-six Rosemount residents ran for city council this year.

While there's no way to know if it is the biggest candidate turnout ever for Rosemount it is certainly the biggest in recent history. The last time the same two seats were open four people ran for election.