Weather Forecast


29 candidates crowd city council ballot

What started as a slow trickle turned into a flood Tuesday. Twenty-nine Rosemount residents have thrown their name into the ring for two city council seats up for election in November. Voters will have a lot to chose from Nov. 4.

Filing started Aug. 26 and for the first week or so only two people, Kevin Grass and Conni Jensen, filed for candidacy. Then on Tuesday, the last day to file, the flood gates opened. Candidates have until 5 p.m. Thursday to withdraw their name. After that it all goes on the ballot.

The two open seats are currently held by Phillip Sterner and Mike Baxter. Mike Baxter will try to defend his seat. Sterner is running for the State House of Representatives 37B seat, so he is not running.

"It's amazing, you have to wonder if there has ever been this many candidates for a municipal office before even in the big cities," said Sterner about the outpouring of candidates.

In addition to Grass, Jensen and Baxter the additional candidates are Benjamin Burdick, Jeff Weisensel, Michael Smith, Todd Hendry, Maila Ellefson, John Zweber, Valora Glinski, James Skjei, Chris Carson, Kurt Bills, Fred Hrbeck, Amy Amman, David Durigan, John Oxborough, Lee Morton, Kelly Johnson, Joshua Erspamer, Barry Lindahl, Rob Newhouse, Jon Burt, Steve Lyzenga, Michele Mato, Todd Benz, Todd Petersen, David Ganfield and Charles Koehnen.