Weather Forecast


District 196 School Board will interview 5 for vacant seat

The District 196 School Board, at its Feb. 11 meeting, announced the names of five finalists it will interview Feb. 25 to fill the remaining two years of the term vacated with the resignation of Bruce Endler in January.

Sixteen district residents submitted applications for the vacancy. Board members reviewed all 16 applications and selected the following five finalists to interview:

Susan Alexander of Eagan;

Art Coulson of Apple Valley;

Gary Huusko of Eagan;

Susan Johnson of Eagan, and

Robin Ruegg of Eagan.

The panel-style interviews will take place at a special board meeting to be held Monday, Feb. 25, at the District Office in Rosemount, immediately following the board's regular meeting (but not before 6:30 p.m.). The board may vote to select the finalist to fill the vacancy immediately following the interviews or may choose to wait to make the appointment at its next meeting. The board's goal is to have someone appointed and sworn in to the position in March, within 90 days of Endler's resignation from the board Jan. 2. The person appointed to the position will fill out the remainder of Endler's term, which runs through Jan. 4, 2010.

The other 11 district residents who applied are David Anger, Steven Burrows, Bret Busse, Cory Campbell, Steve Gort, Timothy Keegan and Jeff Little, all of Apple Valley; Shalom Winans-Ewald of Burnsville, and Michael Palmer, James Roth and Nadim Zoberi, all of Eagan.