Weather Forecast


Advisory council seeks new members

The Community Advisory Council to Flint Hills Resources Pine Bend Refinery has selected four new community members to serve on the Council. The new members, each of whom may serve two consecutive, three-year terms include: Richard Thill of Rosemount, Tara Borgschatz of Apple Valley, Gary Davis of Nininger Township and Larry Ring of Vermillion Township.

The council, in operation since December 1998, provides community members an opportunity to discuss issues and make recommendations to Flint Hills Resources regarding environmental, safety, and other issues of concern to the citizens living within close proximity of the refinery. All council members serve in a voluntary capacity.

Council members are selected by a process originally designed by the Minnesota Chapter of the

League of Women Voters and currently implemented by the council's membership selection committee. The council consists of 20 community members, two voting members and one nonvoting member from Flint Hills Resources and a non-voting member from the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency. Community members of the council represent Rosemount, Apple Valley,

Coates, Eagan, Empire Township, Hastings, Inver Grove Heights and Nininger and Vermillion Townships. The largest geographic representation comes from neighbors living within two to three miles of the refinery.

Council meetings are held from 6 to 9 p.m. the second Monday of the month, September through May, at Dakota County Technical College. For more information on the council, its activities or meetings, visit the council's website at or call 651-429-8391.